REGULATION FOR THE MEETING OF MINISTERS OF FOREIGN AFFAIRS

I. MEETING AND PARTICIPANTS

Article 1. The meeting of Ministers of Foreign Affairs is the supreme body of the Amazon Cooperation Treaty and its organisms:

II. REPONSABILITIES OF THE MEETING OF MINISTERS

Article 2. In accordance with Article 20 of the Amazon Cooperation Treaty the meeting of Ministers is responsible for:

- a) Establishing the basic guidelines of common policy and cooperation actions;
- b) assessing and evaluating the general progress of the Amazonian cooperation process; and
- c) adopting decisions aimed at the attainment of the objectives proposed in the Treaty

Will be in charge as well, of establishing and adequate the system of financial contributions

III. DELEGATIONS

Article 3. The delegations shall be headed by the Ministers of Foreign Affairs. If, in exceptional circumstances, the Minister of Foreign Affairs of any of the Member Countries is unable to attend a Meeting, either ordinary or extraordinary, he/she shall be represented by a special delegate duly accredited.

IV. MEETINGS AND CONVENING OF MEETINGS

Article 4. The meeting shall be ordinary and extraordinary. Ordinary meeting shall be held once every two years. Extraordinary meeting may be convened by any of the Member Countries, whenever supported by at least four other Member Countries, as established in Article 20, paragraph 1 of the Treaty. Through the Permanent Secretariat of the Amazon Cooperation Treaty Organization (PS/ACTO), the Amazon Cooperation Council (CCA) may recommend to the Member Counties the relevance or timeliness of holding extraordinary meeting of Ministers of Foreign Affairs and prepare the corresponding agenda.

V. ACCREDITATION

Article 5. The members of each Delegation shall be accredited by their respective governments through written communications addressed to the government of the country hosting the meeting, with copy to the PS/ACTO.

VI. PRECEDENCE

Article 6. The order of precedence of the Delegation for each meeting shall be alphabetical, according to the name of the respective countries, starting with the host country.

VII. OBSERVERS

Article 7. States, international, regional or sub-regional organizations and their specialized bodies could be invited to participate in meetings as observers. Invitations will be sent by the country hosting the meeting after consultation and agreement with Member States.

VIII. - ORGANIZATION OF THE WORK

Article 8. The Minister of Foreign Affairs of the host country shall be the Chairperson of the session. **Article 9.** In the impediment of the Chairperson, shall be substituted according to the order of precedence provided for in Article 6.

Article 10. When the Chairperson wishes to participate in the debate, he/she shall turn the chair over to the next in line, pursuant to the Article before.

IX. DUTIES OF THE CHAIRPERSON

Article 11. The Chairperson shall:

a. ensure the implementation of the Treaty and other rules of the ACTO

b. Establish the order of the day according to the meeting agenda;

c. Open and close the sessions;

d. Guide the proceedings;

e. Grant the use of the floor to the delegates in the order in which the speakers indicate their intention;

f. Submit to a vote matters under discussion and announce the results, promoting the consensus.

g. Decide on or submit to a vote all points of order;

h. Take the necessary measures and draw up guidelines of any point related with the proceedings of the Meeting.

i. Harmonize the views of various delegations;

j. Suggest to the plenary to receive reports from the chairperson of CCA, CCOOR, from the Presidents of the National Permanent Commissions and of the Secretary General of ACTO.

X. MEETING MINUTES AND REPORTING

Article 12. The PS/ACTO and its staff will be responsible for preparing reports of all the meetings, in which it will be supported by the host country of the meeting.

XI. SECRETARIAT

Article 13. The Secretariat of the meeting shall be the responsibility of the Permanent Secretariat with the support of the host country.

XII. WORKING GROUPS

Article 14. The Meeting of Ministers of Foreign Affairs may set up, by consensus, the working groups deemed necessary, assigning them with specific duties. All the Member Countries may participate in those meetings.

Each may elect a chairperson and a rapporteur, with the same duties indicated for the authorities of the meeting, as considered appropriate.

XIII. AGENDA

Article 15. The agenda of the meetings shall be drawn up by the CCA with the support of the PS/ACTO.

Paragraph 1. In the case of ordinary meeting, the agenda shall be submitted to the governments 45 days prior to the meeting, except in exceptional circumstances.

Paragraph 2. New agenda items that have not been considered within the time taken according to paragraph 1 of this article, to approve the agenda of the Meeting of Foreign Affairs shall be submitted for its consideration to the CCA at least seven (7) days before the meeting, properly justified.

Paragraph 3. In the case of extraordinary meeting, the deadline shall be set upon consultation among Member Countries. It must not be less than (7) seven days, except in exceptional circumstances.

XIV. SESSIONS

Article 16. The plenary sessions shall be open and can become private if requested by the Member Countries. The sessions require the presence of all Member Countries.

Article 17. Closed meeting can only be attended, in addition to the delegations, by the necessary Permanent secretarial staff in consensus with all the Member Countries.

XV. DECISSIONS

Article 18. Decisions shall be adopted pursuant to Article 25 of the Treaty, that is, by unanimous vote.

Article 19. The Minister of Foreign Affairs of the host country shall open the initial plenary session. In the closing session, use of the floor shall also be granted to the Minister of Foreign Affairs of the country designated to host the next meeting.

XVI. POINTS OF ORDER

Article 20. During the debates, any delegation may raise a point of order, with the aim of improving the methodology of the discussion.

XVII. OFFICIAL LANGUAGES

Article 21. The official languages of the meeting shall be Spanish, Dutch, English, and Portuguese.

XVIII. Modifications to these regulations Article 22. These regulations remain subject to review by the Meeting of Ministers of Foreign Affairs motivated by the CCA.