On November 25th, 1975, Suriname became independent in a peaceful way. The country adopted the name of Suriname and republic parliamentary and democratic system. Also, Suriname designed a new national flag and created the national anthem upon the occasion.




Nombre oficial: Official name: Republic of Suriname

National day: November 25th (Independence Day)

Capital city: Paramaribo

Form of government: presidential system and democratically representational republic based on the 1987 constitution

Political division: 10 districts

Head of state:  Chandrikaperdad Santokhi

Area: 163,820km²

Population: 560,157

Language: Dutch (Official), Sranan Tongo, Sarnami, Hindi, Javanese and tribal languages

Currency: Surinamese dollar


No Results Found

The page you requested could not be found. Try refining your search, or use the navigation above to locate the post.


BioForestALC and bioeconomy

BioForestALC and bioeconomy

Experts discussed challenges in strengthening the value chains of socio-biodiversity The Amazon Region has enormous potential to...

read more