Venezuela is located on the nothern tip of South America. It has four well-defined regions: the Maracaibo lowlands in northwest, the northern mounttains, which extend in a wide arc, toward the east-west border with Colombia, along the Caribbean Sea, the broad plains Orinoco in central Venezuela, and Guiana Highlands in southeast.




Official name: Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela

National day: July 5th (Independence Day)

Capital city: Caracas

Form of government: Democratic, participatory, leading, elective, decentralized, alternative, responsible and pluralist, with revocable mandates. Branches: Executive, Legislative, Judicial, Citizen and Electoral

Political division: the country is divided into 23 States, 1 Capital District, 311 federal dependencies and federal territories.

Head of state: Nicolás Maduro

Area: 916,445 km²

Population: 31,804,790 (2015)

Language: Spanish (Official) and 31 indigenous languages

Currency: Bolivar fuerte


Amazon Basin Project

Amazon Basin Project

Project Implementation of the Strategic Actions Program in the Amazon River Basin considering climate variability and change (Amazon Basin Project) VideosPhotosPublicationsLaunch of the Amazon Basin SAP Project and of the Atlas of Hydroclimatic Vulnerability...