On November 25th, 1975, Suriname became independent in a peaceful way. The country adopted the name of Suriname and republic parliamentary and democratic system. Also, Suriname designed a new national flag and created the national anthem upon the occasion.




Nombre oficial: Official name: Republic of Suriname

National day: November 25th (Independence Day)

Capital city: Paramaribo

Form of government: presidential system and democratically representational republic based on the 1987 constitution

Political division: 10 districts

Head of state:  Chandrikaperdad Santokhi

Area: 163,820km²

Population: 560,157

Language: Dutch (Official), Sranan Tongo, Sarnami, Hindi, Javanese and tribal languages

Currency: Surinamese dollar


Amazon Basin Project

Amazon Basin Project

Project Implementation of the Strategic Actions Program in the Amazon River Basin considering climate variability and change (Amazon Basin Project) VideosPhotosPublicationsLaunch of the Amazon Basin SAP Project and of the Atlas of Hydroclimatic Vulnerability...